Board & Committees


Policy Board

The Policy Board directs and approves transportation planning and related implementation activities within the metropolitan area. The SAWMPO Policy Board consists of seven elected or appointed officials from the Cities of Staunton and Waynesboro, Augusta County and VDOT. The Board adheres to and abides by the SAWMPO Bylaws.

Technical Advisory Committee

The primary responsibility of the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) is to conduct technical reviews and analysis regarding all work activity of the UPWP, LRTP, TIP and any related issues and programs as specified by SAWMPO’s Policy Board, and to advise the Policy Board. The TAC is composed of individuals with technical knowledge in transportation and land use matters. The TAC shall integrate land use and environmental considerations into all of its activities in order to forge a stronger link between transportation, land use and the environment. The Committee adheres to and abides by the SAWMPO Bylaws.